Officers and Executive Board (2017-2021)

INTECOL, the International Association for Ecology, has a governing board.
The latter consists of executive board members and officers.

The Executive Officers are:

  • President: Eun-Shik Kim (Kookmin University; Korea)
  • Past President and Strategic Planning Committee Chair: Shona Myers (Myers Ecology Ltd; New Zealand)
  • Vice President: Aurelie Boissezon (Hepia Geneva, HES-SO; Switzerland)
  • Secretary General: Alice C. Hughes (Chinese Academy of Sciences; China)
  • Treasurer: Jos T.A. Verhoeven (Utrecht University; The Netherlands)
  • Policy and Statutes Committee Chair: John Grace (University of Edinburgh; United Kingdom)
  • Membership and Societies Committee Chair: Alan P. Covich (University of Georgia; United States of America)
  • Meetings Committee Chair: R. Eugene Turner (Louisiana State University; United States of America)
  • Working Groups Advisory Committee Chair: Bernd Markert (EISN Institute; Germany)
  • Science Committee Chair: Sandra Luque (IRSTEA; France)
  • Fundraising Committee Chair: Shirong Liu (Chinese Academy of Forestry; PR China)
  • Gender and Equity Committee Chair: Rachel White (University of Brighton; United Kingdom)
  • Communication Officer: (vacant)

The Governing Board Members are:

  • Nigel Andrew (University of New England; Australia)
  • Nalaka Geekiyanage (Rajarata University; Sri Lanka)
  • Sun-Kee Hong (Mokpo National University; Republic of Korea)
  • Bas Ibelings (University of Geneva; Switzerland)
  • Azim U. Mallik (Lakehead University; Canada)
  • Akira Miyawaki (Japanese Center for International Studies in Ecology, Japan)
  • Shin-ichi Nakano (Kyoto University; Japan)
  • Zhiyun Ouyang (Chinese Academy of Sciences; PR China)

The Board conducts its business mostly by correspondence, but meets at the International Congresses of Ecology, and at approximately yearly intervals, usually at other major ecological meetings around the world.


Professor Eun-Shik Kim
Kookmin University
Department of Forestry, Environment, and Systems
77 Jeongneung Ro, Seongbuk Gu
Seoul 02707, Korea

Past President and Strategic Planning Committee Chair
Ms. Shona Myers
Myers Ecology Ltd.
62 Onewa Road, Northcote
Auckland, New Zealand 0627

Vice President
Dr. Aurelie Boissezon
Hepia Geneva, HES-SO
Route de Presinge 150. CH-1254 Jussy.
Geneva, Switzerland

Secretary General
Professor Alice C. Hughes
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden
Yunnan, 666303, PR China

Professor (emeritus) Jos T.A. Verhoeven
Utrecht University
Dept. of Biology
Padualaan 8, 3584 CH
Utrecht, The Netherlands

Policy and Statutes Committee Chair
Professor (emeritus) John Grace
The University of Edinburgh
Crew Building, King's Buildings
Edinburgh EH9 3FF, United Kingdom

Membership and Societies Committee Chair
Professor Alan P. Covich
University of Georgia
Odum School of Ecology
Athens, GA, 30602-2202, USA

Meetings Committee Chair
Professor R. Eugene Turner
Louisiana State University
Dept. Oceanography and Coastal Sciences
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803 USA

Working Groups Advisory Committee Chair
Prof. Dr. Bernd Markert
Environmental Institute of Scientific Networks (EISN)
D-49733 Haren, Germany

Science Committee Chair Dr. Sandra Luque
IRSTEA National Research Institute of Science and Technology for Environment and Agriculture
500 rue JFBRETON
Montpellier 34000 CEDEX 5, France

Fundraising Committee Chair Professor Shirong Liu
Chinese Academy of Forestry
No. 1 Dongxiaofu, Haidian District
Beijing 100091, PR China

Gender and Equity Committee Chair
Dr. Rachel White
University of Brighton
Cockcroft Building, Lewes Road
Brighton, BN2 4GJ, UK

Communication Officer


Executive Board

Professor Nigel Andrew
University of New England
Natural History Museum, W77, Trevanna Rd.
Armidale, NSW, 2351, Australia

Dr. Nalaka Geekiyanage
Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Department of Plant Science
Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka

Professor Sun-Kee Hong
Mokpo National University
Institution for Marine and Island Cultures
Songrim-ro 41-11
Mokpo, Jeonnam, Republic of Korea

Professor Bas Ibelings
University of Geneva
66 Boulevard Carl Vogt CH 1211
Geneva, Switzerland

Professor Azim U. Mallik
Lakehead University
Department of Biology
955 Oliver Rd.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, P7B 5E1, Canada

Professor Akira Miyawaki
Japanese Center for International Studies in Ecology (JISE)
32 Yamashita-cho, Naka-ku
Yokohama 231-0023, Japan

Professor Shin-ichi Nakano
Kyoto University
Center for Ecological Research
Hirano 2-509-3
Otsu, Shiga, Japan

Professor Zhiyun Ouyang
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences
18 Shuangqing Road, Haidian District
Beijing, China